2009 Edible Bookfest

The Friends of Beeghly Library at Heidelberg University cooked the books again, without fear of prosecution. Friends and guests, nearly 100 in all, gathered for the fourth annual edible Books Fest April 5 in the Heidelberg Campus Center Great Hall. Forty-five people brought edible books--culinary creations reminiscent of books they had read. The event takes place on or around April Fools Day each year. Guests were entertained by the visual and verbal puns on book titles in the table centerpieces by Trinity Lescallett.

Judges for the evening were James Troha, interim president of Heidelberg University; Jennifer Troha; Dennis Schultice, director of Aramark Campus Dining Service at Heidelberg; Jeff Whisler, manager of Bob Evans Farm Restaurant in Tiffin; and Kiuko Sanders, retired professor of Japanese and gourmet chef.

Judges awarded blue ribbon certificates to the following Edible Book chefs: Most Delicious award was presented to Aramark Dining Service for “Murder on the Orient Express;” Most Humorous, Mike Burlile, “Gummy Jello;” Most Creative, Debby Roszman, “Pineapple Croc;” Most Artistic, Larry Craig, “Jam Sandwich;” Most Professional entry, Pat Craig, “Patty’s Patch.” In addition to the five prizes awarded by the judges, guests were able to vote for their favorite, naming Linda Detwiler the winner with “Hunger’s Game.” 

Winners of additional door prizes supplied by area businesses were drawn.  Sponsors included:  Aramark Campus Dining Service, Ballreich Brothers, Bob Evans Farm Restaurant, Clover Club, East of Chicago Pizza, GW’s Restaurant, Golden Crown Restaurant, Happy Garden Restaurant, Heritage IGA, Java Rave, Little Hugo’s Ice Cream, Mane Cinsations, McCartan’s Grocery, Molyet’s Farm Market, Paulette’s Restaurant, Paper and Ink, Pioneer Mill Restaurant, the Pit Stop, Ralph’s Joy of Living, Reino’s Pizza and Pasta, T.J. Willie’s Restaurant, Tiffin Ace Hardware, Threads and XCaret Mexican Restaurant.

Members of the planning committee were: Kathy Baxter, Bob Berg, Bobbi Bishop, Linda Detwiler, Ed Krakora, Trinity Lescallet, Leigh Makay, David Noss, Donna Overholt, Debby Roszman, Nancy Rubenstein, Karen Schaffer and Mitch Tucker.