2008 Edible Bookfest

The Friends of Beeghly Library at Heidelberg College have cooked the books again, without any fear of prosecution. They gathered for their third annual Edible Books Fest on Sunday March 30, 2008 at 6:30 p.m. in the Heidelberg College Campus Center Great Hall. Together with other food-loving, book-loving guests, they numbered nearly eighty. Forty of those who attended brought culinary creations reminiscent of books they had read--edible books.

While the judges assessed the eye appeal and taste appeal of the food entries, Kristen Stahl of the Heidelberg College Speech Team, provided an entertaining oral interpretation, “ The Politically Correct Snow White,” a satire appropriate for an event that takes place on or around April Fools Day each year. Guests were also entertained by the visual and verbal puns on book titles in the table centerpieces created by Trinity Lescallett.

Judges for the evening were Dr. Dominic Dottavio, President of Heidelberg College; Dr, Lisette Dottavio, Professor of Accounting; Kiuko Sanders, retired Professor of Japanese and Gourmet Cook; and Dennis Schultice, Director of Aramark Campus Dining Service at Heidelberg. They awarded blue ribbon certificates and gift coupons to five Edible Book Chefs. The award for the Most Delicious category was presented to Kathy Baxter for her Chicken Enchiladas, inspired by the book Holy Enchilada by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver. Erin Shaffer won the prize for the Most Whimsical Edible book for her Alice in Wonderland Teapot Cake inspired by Lewis Carroll's well known book. Barbara Lescallett was the winner of the Most Creative award for her O'Jello food sculpture inspired by a pun on Shakespeare's Othello. The Most Artistic Award was presented to Bobbi Bishop for her Flowers in the Mirror, inspired by the book of the same title written by Li Ju-chen and translated by Lin Tai-yi. Karen Shaffer's giant Gingerbread Girl cookie, inspired by the book The Gingerbread Girl written by Lisa Campbell Ernst, won her the prize for the Best Edible Book by a Professional Chef or Cook. In addition to the five prizes awarded by the judges, guests were able to vote for their favorite Edible Book, naming Erin Shaffer the winner of the People's Choice Award for her Alice in Wonderland teapot cake.

The winner in each category took home a blue ribbon certificate and a gift coupon from a local merchant. Winners of nineteen additional door prizes supplied by area businesses were drawn. The 50/50 drawing netted the club $55.50 and an equal amount to the lucky winner.

Local businesses that sponsored prizes were Aramark Campus Dining Service, Ballreich Brothers, Big Lots, Bookmyer Printing, Carmie's Bar and Grill, Caruso's Corner, East of Chicago Pizza, Golden Crown Restaurant, Happy Garden Restaurant, Heritage IGA, Java Rave Coffee House, Molyet's Farm Market, Paper and Ink, Paulette's Restaurant, The Pharm, Pioneer Mill Restaurant, The Pit Stop, Ralph's Joy of Living, Reino's Pizza and Pasta, Threads, Tiffin Ace Hardware, Tiffin Bake Shop, T.J. Willie's Restaurant, Uncle Mike's Dairy Bar and XCaret Mexican Restaurant.

Members of the Planning Committee were Kathy Baxter, Bob Berg, Bobbi Bishop, Ed Krakora, Trinity Lescallett, Mary Lilly, Donna Overholt, Ted Randall, Laurie Repp, Deb Roszman, Nancy Rubenstein, Karen Shaffer, and Mitch Tucker.