MAC Director Receives Herman J. Peters Award

Oct 28, 2009

Dr. Jo-Ann Lipford-SandersCongratulations to our own Professor Dr. Jo-Ann Lipford-Sanders, Director of Graduate Studies in Counseling, who has been selected as the recipient of the 2009 Herman J. Peters award. This award goes to "one who promotes innovative ideas and theories in the counseling field and has a significant impact on future trends."

Dr. Sanders was nominated for and receives this award along with Professor Tom Davis of Ohio University in recognition of their work over the past several years as Co-Chairs of the CACREP Standards Revision Committee for Community Mental Health Counselors. In this work, Dr. Sanders and her colleagues have revised and created new standards that will impact the training of all new mental health counselors for generations to come.

The awards ceremony will take place during the OCA luncheon (at the All-Ohio Counselors Conference) on Thursday, November 5, from 12:00 noon - 2:00 p.m. Dr Sanders and Dr. Davis will be recognized for this award with comments by me.

For those attending the conference who would like to see the presentation of this award, the awards ceremony will take place in ballroom Easton A of the Hilton at Easton Town Center (Columbus).

Again, congratulations Dr. Lipford-Sanders!